International Hall of Fame

Since 1985, the International Hall of Fame Awards Gala has been the most important annual event for the organization, honoring the women leaders tackling urgent issues facing the world.

The awardees are transformative figures whose contributions to society are outsized on a global scale.


Sandra Day O’Connor
First Female U.S. Supreme Court Justice

Sally Ride
First American Woman in Space and Physicist


Coretta Scott King
Civil Rights Activist

Clare Boothe Luce
Author and Stateswoman

Margaret Thatcher
First Female Prime Minister of Great Britain


Corazon Aquino
First Female President of the Republic of the Philippines

Helen Hayes
Philanthropist and Legendary Actress

Mathilde Krim
Founder, American Foundation for AIDS Research


Audrey Hepburn
Humanitarian, Children’s Rights Advocate, and International Film Star

Wilma Rudolph
Record-Breaking Olympic Gold Medalist


Bette Bao Lord
Author and Stateswoman

Simone Veil
First Female President of European Parliament


Eugenia Charles
First Female Prime Minister of Dominica

Ella Fitzgerald
Globally Renowned Jazz Artist

Betty Ford
Founder, The Betty Ford Center

Maya Ying Lin
Architect of the U.S. Vietnam and Civil Rights Memorials


Gro Harlem Brundtland
First Female Prime Minister of Norway

Betty Friedan
Feminist Author and Activist

Katharine Graham
Chairman of the Board, The Washington Post. First Female CEO of a Fortune 500 Company

Dorothy Height
Founding President, National Council of Negro Women


Violeta Chamorro
First Female President of Nicaragua

Jeanne Holm
First Female U.S. Military Two-Star General

Jackie Joyner-Kersee
Olympic Gold Medalist and World Heptathlon Record Holder

Wilma Mankiller
First Female Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation


Elly Guggenheimer
Author, Civic Leader, Philanthropist, and IWF Founder




Leontyne Price
First Internationally Acclaimed African American Opera Soprano

Muriel Siebert
First Female Member, The New York Stock Exchange

Barbara Walters
First Female Co-Host of U.S. Network Evening News


Christiane Amanpour
Journalist and Award Winning International Correspondent

Nancy Landon Kassebaum
U.S. Senator


Maya Angelou
Award Winning Author and Civil Rights Activist

Mary Robinson
First Female President of Ireland


Shirley Temple Black
Child Actress and Diplomat

Julia Child
Iconic Chef, Author, and Culinary Educator

Maria Tallchief
First Native American Prima Ballerina


Lindy Boggs
U.S. Congresswoman and Diplomat

Wangari Maathai
Environmental Activist and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Rosa Parks
Mother of the American Civil Rights Movement


Madeleine Albright
First Female U.S. Secretary of State

Annie Leibovitz
Legendary Portrait Photographer

Ellen Li
First Woman in the Legislative Council of Hong Kong


Gloria Estefan
Cuban American Performer and Humanitarian

Hanna Suchocka
First Female Prime Minister of Poland


Isabel Allende
Award Winning Author and Women’s Rights Activist

Alma Guillermoprieto
Mexican Author and Journalist

Silvia Pinal
Legendary Mexican Actress and Politician


Louise Arbour
Chief Prosecutor, International Criminal Tribunals

Roberta Bondar
First Canadian Woman Astronaut


Judith Jamison
Groundbreaking Choreographer

Valentina Tereshkova
First and Youngest Woman in Space


Ruth Bader Ginsburg
U.S. Supreme Court Justice

Khatool Mohammadzai
First Female General, Air Force of Afghanistan

Condoleezza Rice
U.S. Secretary of State


Linda Buck
Nobel Prize Laureate in Physiology and Medicine

Sandra Dawson
First Female Master of Oxbridge College

Susan Love
Breast Cancer Research Advocate and Author


Billie Jean King
Tennis Legend and Pioneer for Equality

Graça Machel
First Lady of Mozambique and South Africa


Kim Campbell
First Female Prime Minister of Canada

Anita DeFrantz
Transforming Leader of the Olympics

Gu Xiulian
President, All-China Women’s Federation


Sylvia Earle
Marine Biologist, Oceanographer, and Author

Tzipi Livni
First Female Israeli Foreign Minister

Donna Shalala
U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services and Academic Leader


Beverley McLachlin
First Female Chief Justice of Canada

Ana Palacio
First Female Foreign Affairs Minister of Spain

Julie Payette
Astronaut and Engineer

Mary Simon
Governor General of Canada and National Inuit Leader of Canada


Nandita Das
Pioneering Actress and Filmmaker

Anna Fendi
Iconic Fashion Designer and Entrepreneur

Heidi Klum
Entrepreneur and Innovator

Chen Zhili
President, All-China Women’s Federation


Nawal El Moutawakel
First African Muslim Female Olympic Gold Medalist

Nancy Pelosi
First Female Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives

Pat Summitt
Legendary Women’s Basketball Coach


Lynn Johnston
Award Winning Cartoonist and Illustrator

Anne Murray
Internationally Acclaimed Performing Artist

Portia Simpson-Miller
First Female Prime Minister of Jamaica


Maureen Harding Clark
International Criminal Court Judge

Olga Sánchez Cordero
Mexico Supreme Court Justice

Gale Anne Hurd
Hollywood Film Producer and Screenwriter


Demet Sabancı Çetindoğan
Turkish Entrepreneur, Media, and Retail Mogul

Paula Adina Johnson
Pioneering Cardiologist, Educator, and Champion for Women’s Health

Donna de Varona
Olympic Gold Medalist and Advocate for Women in Sports


Susana Malcorra
Foreign Minister of Argentina

Phumzile Mlambo- Ngcuka
United Nations Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women


Hillary Clinton
Women’s Rights Advocate, U.S. Senator, and Secretary of State


Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
President of Liberia and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Alice Walton


Frances Arnold
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry

Donna Strickland
Nobel Laureate in Physics


Mary Barra
CEO, General Motors Company

Virginia “Ginni” Rometty
Executive Chairman of IBM

Fatma Samoura
First Female Secretary General of FIFA


Rosalind Brewer
CEO of Walgreens Boots Alliance

Julia Gillard
First Female Prime Minister of Australia


Jane Goodall
Founder, Jane Goodall Institute and UN Messenger of Peace


Mona Hanna-Attisha
Pediatrician, Scientist, Activist and Author 

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala
Economist and International Development Expert and
Director-General of the World Trade Organization